Historical knowledge

Danish Colonies

Like other European seafaring nations Denmark engaged in establishing trading stations and colonies in different parts of the world from the 17th century onwards. Geographically they were located in the northern Atlantic, the southern Atlantic and in Asia.

In the northern atlantic they included Greenland, Iceland and the Faeroe Islands. In the southern atlantic they included The Danish West Indies in the Caribbean, The Gold Coast in Western Africa and in Asia Denmark established a small colony in Tranquebar and trading station in Serampore.

The Danish West Indies

From the late 17th century and undtil 1917 the three Caribbean islands of St. Thomas, St. Jan and St. Croix were a Danish colony.


Between 1620 - 1845 Tranquebar on the Coromandel coast in Southern India was a Danish trading station and colony.

Share this page